I Think I Can!

Image credit: laughingdevil at deviantart.com (Click to visit.)

Image credit: laughingdevil at deviantart.com (Click to visit.)

2015 is going to be my “Little Engine That Could…” year, methinks.

Personally and professionally, I am encountering challenge after challenge to take Action (my OneWord for the year), and get things done. To dive off the deep end, into the depths of the unknown. At least, that’s how it feels to me. I do tend to be a bit more dramatic than I need to be sometimes, but that is neither here nor there, right?

My first challenge is represented by the time needed to grow as a student midwife. Desirre, my preceptor, has set aside four hours, one day a month, for my fellow students and me to learn necessary skills. The first day we got together covered a lot of basics we already knew, like hand-washing, gloving/de-gloving, and basic prenatal skills like vitals and urinalysis strips. The last time we met, we learned how to do a complete physical exam (minus all the pelvic stuff), and practiced on one another. It definitely requires the full four hours to understand the need for each skill, be able to explain it back, and then to demonstrate how to do it. It is finally sinking in that, at the end of all of this, I will be able to sit for the NARM exam, and hopefully earn the CPM credentials.

I think I can, I think I can…

Another challenge is one I didn’t want to announce until CAPPA made it official. I have been asked to be their YouTube manager for the CAPPA Vision channel. *Gulp* I almost didn’t accept the position. Me? Make, edit, and post videos for an international organization? The largest childbirth professional organization in the world? Couldn’t be possible. Could it? Somehow, the folks on the leadership board of CAPPA seem to think so, and they couldn’t be wrong, right? So, I’m taking a giant leap of faith in taking this position. What a privilege it will be to work with CAPPA’s leadership to make some great content for its members! With respect, some trepidation, and a lot of self-teaching, I am ready for this.

They even put me on the website already! It’s real, now, folks.

I think I can, I think I can…

Then, of course, there are my doula and childbirth educator careers. Both have slowed somewhat, and I am determined to get to the bottom of it. Being a small business owner requires some serious willingness to stay on top of marketing trends, social media, and other aspects of building a business. I can never take for granted that word-of-mouth will always be enough. I have to earn the business of clients and students, and never let go of finding fresh ways to reach out to people. For someone like me, who would rather have a set of instructions than write my own, it’s an especially big challenge!

I think I can, I think I can…

Bring it on, 2015! I will play this game with you, and I will win! Graciously, of course.

 What are your big challenges this year, and how are you planning to meet them?

Grace & Peace,
Tiffany

Comments Off on I Think I Can!

Filed under All Things Doula, Childbirth Education, Just Me

Comments are closed.