Bikini Bodies at Six Weeks?

Image from linked article.

First, read this article, then come on back.

Now, I will grant that many celebrities simply have the genes to be in a size 2 at six weeks postpartum, and I want to be clear that this is not a knock against naturally skinny moms. Or moms who very literally worked their rear ends off to get back to skinny.

I think the point is that no woman, especially celebrities (whom I think may not actually live in the real world), should be bragging about her size. It’s unproductive, irresponsible, and reinforces the message that the rest of us will never measure up to their arbitrary, unrealistic standards.

I prefer The Shape of a Mother – a site where honesty and support for women of ALL shapes and sizes and colors rule the roost. A place where both skinny moms and not-so-skinny moms are welcomed, loved, and accepted for who they are.

Grace & Peace,
Tiffany

 

2 Comments

Filed under Just Me, Miscellaneous, Motherhood

2 responses to “Bikini Bodies at Six Weeks?

  1. Meg

    A good point. I know some women who almost immediately drop down to their pre-pregancy size. They’re no more “un-natural” then women who take a year or two. I loved what Jenna said, “We created a human being, everybody. Let’s celebrate!”

  2. I enjoyed wearing a bikini much more when I was prego than post pregnancy, but kudos to those who still look good enough to pull it off. I look like a deflated balloon, so I don’t know how they do it.