Begin It.

“Whatever you can do, or dream you can do, begin it. Boldness has genius, power and magic in it.” ~Goethe

A chord was struck inside of me today. A flame was kindled.

Birth work is my calling, my passion. It’s what I was born to do.

I was also born to the life of a married, homeschooling, home-managing mother. This is my primary calling, my primary passion.

I have a lot of work to do, this side of Heaven.

The two callings are not mutually exclusive, as evidenced by many who have gone before me.

I am meant to do these things together, this I know for sure.

What I have always doubted is my ability.

No longer.

Since I am called to both, I am already equipped for both. I just need to choose wisely.

How to manage my time to maximize productivity, both in my home and in my work.

How to keep the first things first, and the rest out of the way.

How to organize all the pieces of paper in a way that makes sense to me, and makes efficiency easier.

How and when to say either “Yes” or “No” at the right times, to the right things.

How to make self-care a priority.

Not necessarily “me” time, but basic self-care. For me, self-care is: Quiet time to pray; Nutrition & Hydration; Exercise, Sleep, Peer review time, and Chiropractic care. I don’t desire luxury – just good health, spiritually, emotionally, mentally, and physically.

Last, but not least, I need to choose wisely where to start.

The first thing that comes to mind that I should do?

Buy a four-drawer filing cabinet, and get all the paper everywhere organized and pretty.

Laugh if you will, but this is the beginnings of boldness in me!

I have a tendency not to start things – not out of procrastination, so much as a disbelief that I can be good enough at it. I’m a “discouraged perfectionist.” I get overwhelmed at the big picture, and literally give up before I even begin.

That is the case here. I’ve doubted that I can fulfill both callings on my life, because frankly, I’m not that amazing! I’m just average.

Still, it’s us averages that get work done, isn’t it?

So, I’m without a legitimate excuse.

They say to break down your larger goals into manageable steps.

The acquiring of a four-drawer filing cabinet seems pretty manageable to me, and might even feel a little magical.

How does the above quote strike you? What do you need to begin?

Grace & Peace,
Tiffany

4 Comments

Filed under Just Me

4 responses to “Begin It.

  1. Pingback: Begin It: A post from the birthy side of my life. | The Faery Inn

  2. Wow! I just finished teaching a workshop on household organization and this would have been such a marvelous addition to it! Thanks for these insights!

    • faerylandmom

      That sounds like a workshop I’d love to attend. I’m decently organized, but not as organized as I want to be. 🙂 Thanks for reading! Tiff

  3. Patti

    Thanks for this, Tiffany – it’s the kind of thing I always need to hear. Too many times I don’t accomplish what I want simply because I don’t begin.