The Waiting Game…

Yesterday afternoon, I mailed off my labor doula certification packet to the CAPPA office.

From the time they receive it, it will take eternity four to six weeks for them to let me know if I passed, and can be certified. It took me almost the full two years to complete everything I needed to do. In the meantime, I am waiting. As patiently as someone on pins and needles can be. đŸ™‚

I went over my checklst two or three or twenty times, to make sure all was in order. If even one piece of information is missing, that will put a huge halt on the whole process. I am 99.9% certain I completed every requirement. That 0.01% is nagging me though…as usual. I am probably over-analyzing, as is my wont.

Now, I finally feel I can turn my attention to my childbirth education requirements. I am currently wishing I had known two years ago that I could do both certifications at the same time, because I would have gone that route. As it is, I will have to do more work than I would have had to do otherwise.

However, I am choosing to look at this as an opportunity to learn more than I would have doing a dual certification. I get to audit another childbirth class, and while I have plans to audit the same one, the instructor is encouraging me to seek out something I have never explored. I think I’d like to look into Lamaze, since I am already familiar with Bradley, and I know Lamaze curriculum lines up quite a bit with CAPPA’s birth philosophy.

In the meantime, I am thinking that I should begin updating this here birth blog of mine, seeing as how all my facebook friends (aside from my fellow birth junkies, that is) seem to be over my rampant posting of all things birth-related…ahem.

If you’re reading this, and are interested in continuing to do so…what would you like to see me write about? Name it…and I’ll do my best to cover it.

Comments Off on The Waiting Game…

Filed under All Things Doula

Comments are closed.