I Am Certifiable!

Finally…after nearly two years of work – and a little procrastination, because really…I certainly could have been finished six months ago – I will be ready to seal an envelope containing my labor doula certification packet, and mail it to the wonderful ladies at CAPPA by the end of next week.

I will know in about four to six weeks whether or not I passed muster and will be able to officially join the growing ranks of doulas. Unless Levi and I decide we can afford the $50 rush so I can be notified in two weeks instead of eternity the four to six. It will be another four to six weeks after that when I will receive my certificate and name tag. (I get a name tag!!!)

I can hardly believe I will be certifiable at last! Wait…

Certified! I meant certified!

I cannot wait to change the wording on my brochures and business cards. Instead of saying “Trained Labor Doula”, I can put the auspicious acronym “CLD” after my name. Meaning, of course, “Certified Labor Doula.”

It will probably take still another year to be able to add “CCCE” after my name as well. (CAPPA Certified Childbirth Educator) Sigh…I have so much work to do on that one.

In the meantime, I hope to get a specialization to work with teen moms, so I can be better equipped to volunteer at the local pregnancy center, and minister to the brave young women who choose life for their babies – whether they keep them or make an adoption plan.

At the very least, I’ll be able to teach childbirth courses there a few times a year. Which is rad. I always thought I wanted to teach teenagers…just didn’t know at the time that it would be in this capacity. 🙂

My status as a birth junkie is almost official.

Schweet.

1 Comment

Filed under All Things Doula

One response to “I Am Certifiable!

  1. Meredith (Hale) Cabrera

    Hi Tiffany! Congratulations on pursuing your labor doula certificate. I remember you mentioning that to me a few years ago… and here you are- pretty much there! I know you’ll be amazing. Plus, you are friends with Desirre Andrews who was my own doula! Who would have known! =) Cool. Best wishes. Meredith