Happy Labor Day!

I was all done posting for the night, when I came across Rocks in my Dryer. Tonight’s post is one I cannot pass up and still call myself a doula. It would be wrong. In honor of Labor Day, I’m filling out this fun little meme all about…well…labor. The kind that ends with a baby. Enjoy!

How long were your labors?
Turbo: 37.5 hours. (Yes, you read that right. Don’t feel bad for me though…my mom was in labor with me for 48.) I remember at one point, my hubby sighed and said “Boy, this is really getting boring.” My response? “WELL DON’T I FEEL SORRY FOR YOU!!!” Really, though, his nonchalance and absolute confidence in my ability to birth was really THE major key to my getting through my first labor the way I wanted to – naturally and peacefully. (Yes, it really was peaceful.)

Cuteness: 8 hours.
I heart birth balls. Just so you know.

Sunshine: 3-4 hours. I think.
Bubbers: 3-4 hours. I think.
Those last two were somewhat of a blur…and I think they were really closer to three hours each. I also practically midwifed myself for these two! So many anecdotes for these…but I won’t keep you anymore. Read on.

How did you know you were in labor?
With each of them, it was good, hard contractions that felt way different than the Braxton-Hicks, and came regularly, no matter what I did. My water didn’t break at all until I started pushing, or right before with the last three. It was artificially ruptured with my first at the 24 hour mark. In fact – with Bubbers, my waters came out like a balloon as I was pushing – before his head was crowning! I wish I had a picture…

Where did you deliver?
Turbo was born at a free-standing birth center.
Cuteness, Sunshine, and Bubbers were all born in my own bed at home.

Drugs?
The only drugs I had were after Turbo was born, before I delivered the placenta. After 37 hours, my uterus quit, and after n. stimulation, breastfeeding, and massage had all been tried, I received an injection of pitocin in the thigh to get my uterus going again to push out the placenta.

C-section?
No…I have been undeservedly, richly blessed to have had very “boring” uneventful, low-risk pregnancies & births.

Who delivered?
All of our children were officially caught by their daddy, with the guidance of a CNM at the births of Turbo & Cuteness, and a CPM at the births of Sunshine & Bubbers.

I can’t let this go without a side note – nobody “delivers” babies. What, indeed, does a baby need “delivering” from? It’s an odd term, I think. As if babies needed rescuing from the womb… I prefer to see the doctor’s/midwife’s role as that of an assistant – not a deliverer. 🙂 If that makes sense…

If you want to play along with this meme, just cut and paste the questions into your own blog, and leave your link here. Then, leave me a note to let me know you did, so I can come read yours!

1 Comment

Filed under Birth Stories & Inspiration, Pregnancy & Birth

One response to “Happy Labor Day!

  1. Baby Tunnel Exodus

    I laughed out loud at your don’t I feel Sorry for You! Bwahahaha! Blessings! ~Whitney