Learned Something New Today

The following was a post in my doula Yahoo group, which I found interesting. I’ve heard of “cluster feeding” infants, but I didn’t really know what it meant. Just thought I’d pass on the little bit of info I got today.

Question:
“Hi Ladies!

I have a client who emailed me this morning frantic about baby not sleeping.

This is how she explained it: All is pretty good but she has a rough time between 7 pm to 12 a.m. She kind of goes into a frenzied eating fest, going from hysterical crying while eating more or less non-stop. She just seems so upset, and it breaks our hearts! And sometimes, she continues into 2am so sleeping is rough. Ideas?

Client hasn’t wanted an overnight so I haven’t seen this for myself yet. When I’m there during the day the baby eats well, sleeps well and is rarely fussy. I’ve made suggestions…some the parents have followed, some not. So I’m wondering what you all think. Any suggestions??”

Thanks

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Answer:
“It is normal cluster feeding behavior in a bfd baby. She is storing up the hindmilk to sleep a longer stretch in the overnight hours. Most moms think that they have no milk and that is why the baby is wanting to bfd non-stop. This newborn behavior will calm down over the next few weeks.”

Ellen Penchuk, IBCLC, RLC

I’m going to have to do some more research to learn more about this…I think the next certification I want to get is Lactation Educator…there’s just so much about breastfeeding I want to learn.

Do any of you have any experience with this “cluster feeding” thing??? I’d love to hear your experiences, and what you learned about it…tips, tricks, anything you think is relevant. I sooo need to learn anything you can share with me about this.

3 Comments

Filed under Breastfeeding & Babywearing, Newborns & Beyond

3 responses to “Learned Something New Today

  1. chubbycheeks

    My youngest does something like this. She usually eats a bunch of times in a row in the evening then sleeps like 8 hrs. I can’t complain though my other kids never slept through this young.

  2. Military Crunchy Mama

    My baby girl did this for the first few months of life. Starting around 6:00 or so she would eat every hour, then she would sleep for 5 or 6 hours. But now she wakes up a bunch at night….

  3. Anonymous

    My daughter did this, especially when she was out of sorts. For example, if we had company that day, and at the end of the day there was finally no one home and some peace and quiet, she would want to nurse non-stop. So, she wasn’t hungry, but she needed the soothing of nursing. I would have to be mindful to keep commotion to a minimum throughout the day. She is still very clingy, but the more you address it (giving her alone time, etc.) the more comfortable it is. Co-sleeping really helped as well (which we did not start out doing, but she needed the closeness). And, at some point we introduced the pacifier. All of this helped – until teething and I was once again the human pacifier!