Eat My Placenta? Are You Crazy?

Admittedly, I have never even considered eating my placenta – whether raw, steamed, blended, or dried & encapsulated. Ever. I’ve never even looked into it. However. On my doula yahoo group, there have been several – and I mean several – posts about this option. Up until about two weeks ago, I thought this was just a freaky, hippie, weirdo thing to do.

I have discovered that it really isn’t. It’s a viable option that seems to have far more benefits than I ever thought it could. Frankly, it’s still weird to me, but in the interest of learning all I can about the options women have, I started checking it out.

And, if I have another child, I will probably consider encapsulating my placenta and using it for many of the purposes listed on the following sites:

~Placenta Benefits
~Gentle Birth: Medicinal Uses of the Placenta
~Virtual Birth Center: What Can I Do With This Placenta?

3 Comments

Filed under Crunchy Parenting, Miscellaneous, Postpartum, Pregnancy & Birth

3 responses to “Eat My Placenta? Are You Crazy?

  1. Kim

    I still have a really big ewww factor, but I would love to save one and put it in the ground along with a tree. A friend of mine has a tree for each of her children

  2. I read this article about a week ago and I could not agree more. One of my pet peeevs has always been little girls or babies in bikinis, because the bikini is such a sex symbol! I don’t know why parents think it’s cute to make their girls look like mini grown ups! Thankfully, it is possible to avoid it. Macartney has survived kindergarten without knowing who any of those pop star idols are or caring at all what they dress like. She is so oblivious to that kind of thing because we don’t expose her to it. Even when kids start school, while they are young, parents are still the biggest influence in their lives, so why not use that time to shelter them from those kind of examples?