Penny Simkin, the Mother of All Doulas!

Penny Simkin is known for starting the whole “doula thing” in the US. I found a wonderful article on her at another doula’s blog. I have yet to read her book, Pregnancy, Childbirth, & the Newborn, but it’s on my list of ones I want. (My birthday is coming up, after all.)

I have, however, seen her in action in some of the videos I watched at my CAPPA training in Denver, and she is amazing! I would love to have her for a mentor. Anyway, the article is Seattle Times: Looking to nature, doula Penny Simkin practices the art of delivery.

Go check it out!

Photo: Penny Simkin, doyenne of childbirth education and mother of the doula movement, comforts and cares for Pamela Rosenstein during labor.

Comments Off on Penny Simkin, the Mother of All Doulas!

Filed under All Things Doula

Comments are closed.